Never judge a book by its cover!

I never really made a proper introduction of myself and I don’t plan to do one. That’s simply because I don’t want to waste a post on that, or your time, and I couldn’t tell you anything interesting or out of the ordinary (if you check my About page it says simple and that’s how it is).
However, this post will be 2 in 1 haha. You’ll find out one or two things about me and I get to brag about yet another thing that bothers me quite a bit.So here we go.

I am from Romania. No, you didn’t misread that, I wrote Romania. Eight months ago I was living in a town called Zalău, which is about 80 km away from Cluj, to be precise. People probably never heard of Zalău, but I think some might know about Cluj and that’s why I mentioned it. Both Zalău and Cluj are amazing, if you ask me, but that’s just my subjective opinion.

Anyway, if you read the newspapers, watch television or have access to the internet, it’s quite obvious how Romanians are seen in Europe, so there’s no need for me to tell you. What I’m going to tell you instead is that it makes me angry, sad and disappointed. I know nothing about politics, but I’m aware of the fact that Romania has issues to solve and just like any other country in the world, it has good and bad people. What I can’t seem to understand is why judge a whole country based on the actions of some people? Why put everyone in the same boat?

Whether it’s about a different country, a different religion or a different way of life, before you judge please make sure you know a few facts about it (correct ones) , good and bad parts as well. Don’t let yourself be influenced by the media or by other people.

I’ll give you an example and by this you’ll find out something else about me (yaaayy).

A few years ago my mom started learning Arabic (she’s a translator) and while studying the language she discovered Islam. At that time, as I saw in the media, being a Muslim was a bad thing and of course I thought that my mom was loosing it. I didn’t try to talk her out of it, but I did tell her that I do not agree with her decision. We ignored this subject for quite a while, she would read the Qur’an, respect the prayer times and it all became a part of her life. I remember giving her all kinds of looks when she would go to her room, get on her knees and pray. I told her from time to time that she’s crazy and that she’s making a big mistake. Of course she was upset and hurt because of my behavior, but she wouldn’t start a fight, she never forced me to read about Islam, she never tried to make me change my mind. And I never took the time to look into Islam. I judged something I knew nothing about. It was easier to see the bad parts only and deny that there might be good in it as well. I believe she knows me too well, after all she raised me, so it was clear to her that I would come to my senses eventually.
It was only two months ago, when I went home, that I realized the mistake I made. So I apologized to my mom, but still had no intention whatsoever of finding out more about Islam. I just told her that I admire her determination and strength in her belief.
However, on the last day back home, I was packing my stuff, saying goodbye to relatives, friends etc. and the next thing I know is that I ask my mom for some books about Islam and an English copy of the Qur’an to take with me to the UK. Maybe I was trying to make up for being mean to her or maybe it was something else, I don’t know, but I put the books in my suitcase.
Eventually I started reading the Qur’an and I was surprised of how much sense it made to me. (I’ll keep this story for another post, because it’s a whole new chapter in my life).

In the end you can all draw your own conclusions and you are free to judge me for being Romanian, for choosing Islam or whatever you think I should be judged for, but lets not be hypocrites.

11 responses to “Never judge a book by its cover!

Leave a Reply

